

# Shiv Chhatrapati Shikshan Sanstha's Rajarshi Shahu Mahavidyalaya (Autonomous), Latur Department of Biotechnology

# A) Summary Report

1) Title of Programme:		A Lecture series on Nobel Laureates			
		Lecture 10: James Watson, Francis			
		Crick and Ma	urice Wilkins		
2) Name of Organizing Department/Unit:		Department of Biotechnology			
3) Name of the Coordinator(s)/		Chair Person: Dr. Mahadev Gavhane			
Convener(s) / Organizer(s) of the		Joint-Organizer: Dr. A. J. Raju			
Programme:		Prof. S. N. Shinde			
		<b>Head:</b> Dr. S. S. Kulkarni			
		<b>Head:</b> Dr. S. S.	Kulkarni		
4) Date(s) of the Programme:		15 <sup>th</sup> February 2022			
5) Venue/ Mode:		Department of Biotechnology, RSML			
6) Target Group:		M. Sc. Biotechnology I yr.			
7) Number of Participants:		Male	Female	Total	
A separate list with	Teaching	00	00	00	
signatures be maintained	Non-Teaching	00	00	00	
in the department/Unit)	Students	18	34	52	
	Total	18	34	52	
8) Name(s) and details of Resource		Ms. S. R. Surwase, Assistant Professor,			
Person(s), if any:		Department of Biotechnology,			
		Rajarshi Shahu Mahavidyalaya			
		(Autonomous	J,Latur.		
9) Total Expenditure for the Programme:		NIL			
10) Source of Funding:		Not Applicable			

## B) Report

#### i. Title

A Lecture series on Nobel Laureates, Lecture 10: James Watson, Francis Crick and Maurice Wilkins.

#### ii. Introduction

The lecture has been organized on February 15, 2022 on "Nobel Laureate: James Watson, Francis Crick and Maurice Wilkins." The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 1962 was awarded jointly to Francis Harry Compton Crick, James Dewey Watson and Maurice Hugh Frederick Wilkins "for their discoveries concerning the molecular structure of nucleic acids and its significance for information transfer in living material."

## iii. Objectives of the Programme/issues addressed

- ➤ To make students aware of the work done by Watson and Crick.
- To give information about discovery of structure of Nucleic acid.
- ➤ To make the students to understand the structural details of DNA, Base composition and replication mechanism in detail.
- > To motivate students towards research.

### iv. Details of Participants

52 participants (18 Male and 34 female) participants attended the Programme.

## v. Brief Summary of Events/Sessions

Ms. Shilpa R Surwase discussed regarding the work done by Watson and Crick. The structural details of the DNA were also discussed with the student participants. The Information about the Nobel Prize, its history was given to students. The detailed structure of DNA and its mechanism of replication were discussed. The various analytical techniques used for discovery of Nucleic Acid structure and information about the methods used for analysis were also given to students.

#### vi. Conclusion, with Feedback on the Programme

To motivate students towards research, it is essential to keep an idol in front of them. Hence, during this lecture Ms. Shilpa Surwase had talked about three of the best scientists and Nobel Laureates James Watson, Francis Crick and Maurice Wilkins who received Nobel in Physiology in the year of 1962, exactly 10 years after their milestone discovery of Double helical structure of DNA. She had

elaborated the research journey of the researchers and given brief idea of their discoveries. Very optimistic response was received from students and they found motivated towards research in life sciences.

vii. List of Participants

Date: 16.02.2022

Head Head Partment of Biotechor

Department of Biotechonlogy Rajarshi Shahu Mahavidyalay (Autonomous) Latur-413 53 Bull Autonomore (Snooth

Principal PRINCIPAS Rajarshi Shahu Mahavidyalaya (Autonomous), Latur

# C) Geotagged Photographs:



Resource Person Ms.S.R.Surwase explaining the contribution of Nobel Laureates James Watson, Fransis Crick and Maurice Wilkins.



Student Participants attending the lecture on Nobel Laureates JamesWatson, Francis Crick and Maurice Wilkins.



Student Participants attending the lecture on Nobel Laureates JamesWatson,Francis Crick and Maurice Wilkins.

# D) Brochure of the Program:



# Shiv Chhatrapati Shikshan Sanstha's Rajarshi Shahu Mahavidyalaya (Autonomous), Latur Department of Biotechnology



James Watson, Francis Crick and Maurice Wilkins

Date:15/02/2022 Time:3:00 PM

# "A Lecture Series on Nobel Laureates"

Lecture 10:James Watson, Francis Crick and Maurice Wilkins

#### **Chair Person**

Dr.Mahadev Gavhane Principal

# **Joint Organizer**

Prof.S.N.Shinde
Vice-Principal
Head
Dr.S.S.Kulkarni

**Resource Person** Ms.S.R.Surwase

# Rajarshi Shahu Mahavidyalaya (Autonomous), LaturA Lecture Series on Nobel Laureates Lecture 10: James Watson, Francis Crick and Maurice Wilkins

# **List of Participants**

Sr.no	Name of the Participants	Gender	Designation	Signature
1.	Adude Saurabh Sanjay	Male	Student	Sourabh
2.	Gaikwad Suraj Ram	Male	Student	lann.
3.	Bite Prajkta Ranjit	Female	Student	Taip ate
4.	Maktedar Bhausaheb Balaji	Male	Student	(Balaji
5.	Rathod Shilpa Ramakant	Female	Student	Rathed
6.	Rasal Vishwajit Gyanoba	Male	Student	Root
7.	Shelke Pranita Dipak	Female	Student	Lebke.
8.	Maniyar Asma Dastageer	Female	Student	Aging.
9.	Nagapure Divya Dattatraya	Female	Student	Minya.
10.	Tarwadge Kamakshi Rajkumar	Female	Student	Kamakshi
11.	Rathod Amit Gangaram	Male	Student	Arathod.
12.	Nade Ashlesha Anil	Female	Student	Nade
13.	Kumbhar Vaishnavi Rajendra	Female	Student	Wishan
14.	Dhulshette Ashish Gangaram	Male	Student	I hulshal
15.	Bansode Swapnali Arjun	Female	Student	Swapnali
16.	Kulkarni Sharayu Anant	Female	Student	Grennyer
17.	Jadhav Dipak Rajendra	Male	Student	Igadhar
18.	Davane Akash Somnath	Male	Student	Dame?
19.	Mokashe Sanjeevani Ratnakar	Female	Student	Davjeeva
20.	Bone Yogesh Revan	Male	Student	·Bone
21.	Chavan Tushar Sanjay	Male	Student	Tushar
22.	Bhandarkote Shivpooja Dnyanoba	Female	Student	Jung
23.	Deshpande Bhargavi Hemant	Female	Student	ВИО
24.	Mali Sujata Mahesh	Female	Student	SAMO
25.	Narhare Vaishnavi Vishnu	Female	Student	John
26.	Shinde Abhijeet Suryakant	Male	Student	Linde
27.	Chidrawar Mrunal Mahendra	Female	Student	

28.	Jagtap Patil Neha Nitin	Female	Student	patil
29.	Chounde Supriya Vijaykumar	Female	Student	Jung.
30.	Bhikane Sakshi Suhas	Female	Student	Sakshi
31.	Handargule Babita Baswaraj	Female	Student	Babila.
32.	Kare Lakhan Narsing	Male	Student	Cakhan
33.	More Sumit Pratap	Male	Student	Sunit.
34.	Rathod Mahima Sanjay	Female	Student	Mathod
35.	Rathod Dinesh Dagdu	Male	Student	glained.
36.	Pirjade Sameer Mahebub	Male	Student	sameer
37.	Kawale Dnyaneshvari Zumbar	Female	Student	Kawale
38.	Jadhav Rutuja Nandkumar	Female	Student	Tachuard.
39.	Shinde Premanand Gundu	Male	Student	Paras
40.	Kawle Krutika Balasaheb	Female	Student	Homefika
41.	Saundale Ashwini Dhondiram	Female	Student	A
42.	Birajdar Pratiksha Pramod	Female	Student	a
43.	Dharashive Rohit Dhananjay	Male	Student	fremit.
44.	Korake Gitanjali Mahadev	Female	Student	Citark
45.	Hadbe Virendra Sugriv	Male	Student	Hadloe
46.	Shinde Rushikesh Bhaskar	Male	Student	shinds.
47.	Bhong Varsha Vilasrao	Female	Student	Vorsha
48.	Mengle Pooja Baswaraj	Female	Student	10 pool 0
49.	Parihar Sukeshana Mukesh	Female	Student	Parihua
50.	Magar Pooja Vivekanand	Female	Student	Porta.
51.	Yelale Rajashree Vitthal	Female	Student	Pajorson
52.	Maniyar Umeha Ayub	Female	Student	Maniyor
			office and an extension	I slam for .

Date: 16/02/2022

HOD Head Department of Biotechonlogy Rajarshi Shahu Mahavidyala (Autonomous) Latur-413 53



Rajarshi Shahu.Mahavidyalaya (Autonomous), Latur